Cookie dough protein bars

Jump to the recipe’s instructions

I love protein bars. I love that they give me the impression to eat a treat while providing me with good fats, protein and a few carbs to fuel my workouts. I don’t like so much the store bought ones though, because they’re often full of processed crap (besides the obviously highly processed protein powders).

I’ve spent a long time trying to find the perfect recipe for protein bars. When I say perfect I mean, in no particular order: tasty, quick to make (lazy remember?), with few simple ingredients – I don’t have pro stuff like isomalto-oligosaccharide that is indispensable to make homemade Quest bars for instance. Not that I think it’s bad to use it. I may even purchase some in the future and test new recipes with it. It is just that for the moment I want to be able to do my protein bars with what is usually in my kitchen. I also want them to be low carb and high protein, obviously.

Most of the time, when I find a recipe I like, it’s either too long to make, or it has too many ingredients that are not protein, or it’s too high in carbs. Basically, I want my protein bars to be protein in a fun form. No more no less. And no, I don’t want to spend more than 10 mn to make a batch. Am I exigent? Well, yes. And that’s why I devised my own recipe.

So here we go. I took some unflavored whey protein (you can of course use a flavored one, and play with different flavors), added some almond flour, creamy peanut butter (easily replaced with the crunchy variety, or even almond butter if you’re not into peanuts), vanilla and cinnamon, and a few drops of liquid sweetener.

wp-1463138555556.jpg

Then I added chocolate chips. The ones I used are 77% cacao. I love dark chocolate. The darker the better. Feel free to put a sweeter chocolate, but know that it will increase the carb content of the recipe.

wp-1463135462318.jpg

And I mixed everything with a fork until it became crumbly, then added a little water and mixed it again with my hands to form a dough.

wp-1463135217920.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

I put the dough in a pan (a silicone mold would be perfect in that it would prevent sticking when it’s time to unmold the bars, but I didn’t have one at hand so I took a regular baking pan) and flattened it.

wp-1463151005774.jpg

I stuck the pan in the fridge for a couple of hours, and all that was left to do was to cut the dough into bars, then try not to devour all of them!

wp-1463135166751.jpg

Look at this stack!

wp-1463135001171.jpg

 

wp-1463135075532.jpg

wp-1463135132979.jpg

100g whey protein (about 2.5 dl)
60g almond flour (about 1dl)
50g peanut butter (about 1/2 dl)
50g dark chocolate chips
1/4 tsp. powdered vanilla
1/4 tsp. cinnamon
Sweetener of your choice, to taste
1/2 dl water

Preparation: 10 mn
Resting time: at least 2 hours in the fridge.
Macros per bar: 170 kcal;  protein: 14; carbs: 4;  fat: 10

Mix the protein powder, almond flour, peanut butter, chocolate chips, vanilla and cinnamon in a bowl. Use a fork or your hand. The consistency should be the one of a crumbly cookie dough. Add some sweetener until it is sweet enough to your taste.

Then form a well in the center of the bowl, and add half of the water. Stir. It should form a thick dough. If it is still crumbly, add a little water, one spoonful at a time, until a compact ball of dough is formed.

Spread the dough in a pan, and let the bars firm up in the fridge for at least two hours. They taste even better if you can resist and let them sit until the day after.

I couldn’t resist!

wp-1463152254293.jpg

Because they can be a bit sticky, if you want to transport them wrap them individually in parchment or wax paper. Most importantly, don’t use aluminium foil, as it will stick definitely to your bars.

Bon appétit!

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Eliza C says:

    Hej, vi gjorde just detta och dess i kylskåpet det ser riktigt bra och jag kan inte vänta med att prova det, jag vet att jag förmodligen skulle ha skrev detta på engelska men jag gillar att prata på svenska bättre. Men det ser så bra och du har en riktigt cool blogg

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Tack så mycket! Glad att du gillar det 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

