Italian ground meat “sausages”

Jump to the recipe’s instructions

If there is something that I love above all it’s ground meat with different kinds of herbs and spices. Any combination will work for me, provided it has a combination of flavor and kick. And provided it is quick and easy to make, of course. There is no way I’m going to spend more than 1/2 hour in the kitchen making meatballs or a meatloaf, even though I like it. One of my favorite is Mexican chorizo that I discovered recently, and I’ll soon give you my own version of the recipe. But today I want to give you my version of Italian ground meat stuffing that can be either used to stuff vegetables or shaped into meatballs or sausages.

This recipe has been kindly given to me by the lady owner of an Italian trattoria from Northern Italy, and even if it sounds too good to be true and she for sure kept some ingredients and knacks secret, it is quite good on its own and pretty close to what I had the occasion to eat in other Italian restaurants or family kitchens. The original version of the recipe is made with a mix of veal and pork. I don’t find veal easily where I live, and it’s a very expensive meat that I wouldn’t be willing to grind, so I replace it with beef. Sometimes I make the recipe with a mix of beef and pork, but for the one I’m about to show you I wanted something fairly lean so I used a mix of ground beef and chicken instead.

Don’t hesitate to make a double or triple amount of the recipe. The sausages freeze very well, raw or pre-cooked, and you can just thaw a few of them to make a tasty week dinner.

wp-1466062828893.jpg

To the meat I added spring onions, parsley and garlic, as well as oat bran, a little smoked paprika because I like the earthy flavor it gives to the sausages, and the zest of a lemon, plus some salt and pepper.

I mixed everything well and formed the meat in sausage shape. You can of course make meatballs if you prefer, or even use the meat to stuff vegetables.

I cooked them in the oven for about 30 mn at a medium heat. Don’t cook them in a too hot oven, it will dry the meat. The cooking time will depend on the size of your sausages. You want to cook them until they take a nice golden brown color.

I served them with a Greek salad, but any vegetable will do, or even rice or pasta if you eat them.

Instructions for  8 persons (16 sausages)

800g ground beef (I used one at 12% fat)
800g ground chicken
2 tbs. oat bran
1 cup parsley, chopped
3 cloves garlic, crushed
3 spring onions, chopped
1 tsp. smoked paprika
1 lemon peel, grated
2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. ground pepper

Preparation: 5 mn.
Cooking time: 30 mn.

Macros per serving (2 sausages): 322 kcal., protein: 40g; carbs: 2.5g; fat: 17g

In a bowl, put the meat, oat bran, paprika, salt and pepper, mix well. Add the garlic, onions, parsley and lemon zest, mix again.

Form into sausages or balls, spread a little oil on a baking sheet (or use a cooking spray) and put your sausages in the oven for 30 mn at 180-200°C (depending on your oven). They’re ready when they’re brown but still juicy.

Serve them with a salad (I made a Greek salad to go with these), my Inratable ratatouille, or any vegetables you fancy. Either way you’ll love these Italian ground meat sausages!

Bon appétit!

 

Leave a Reply

